My Baby Has No Name

When we found out we were finally pregnant with Ella, picking out a name was not even an issue. We had a boy name and a girl name already picked out before we even found out what we were having. Maybe that's the advantage of being together for over 15 years. We had plenty of time to think about it. And then the year of trying to conceive gave us the opportunity to really solidify our choices.

But it's different this time. We weren't in any hurry to play the name game. Turns out that all the contenders we had previously picked in our pre-baby days no longer held its luster and we just became "okay" with them.

If we were having a boy, he most likely would have been named after hubby's brother. Even though I was all set to use the name if we did have a boy 1st round, I was on the fence about it this time.

But we are having another girl. And there are just so many pretty names out there it's hard to pick just one. We want something pretty that will sound great when paired with big sister's name Ella Juliet in a sentence. We played with more E names. And then some other random names that would pop into my head.

At one point we narrowed it down to 2 names. Both starting with E. But the minute I would start liking 1 name over the other, something will happen… like a "sign"… and I'll see the other name somewhere and then I start favoring that one. So I'm constantly going back and forth. And then the other day, another name came up out of the blue. But that one didn't last very long before I went back to the original 2.

At first I refrained from telling people of the names I liked because I didn't want them to start calling her by either name before I had officially chosen one. Or have them influence my decision either. There are a select few who do know and they've already voiced their opinions on which one they prefer.

But I'm still torn.

The hubby likes both names as well.

At the rate we're going… we'll be picking her name out of a hat at the hospital when they ask us to fill out and sign her birth certificate. And if it does come down to that, I hope we pick out one we actually like and not because we felt rushed to name her.

*sigh*

I just hope our little princess doesn't resent us for not having her name picked out ahead of time if it does come down to picking it out of a hat. And I hope she doesn't think she isn't special or that we didn't care.

We just want it to be perfect.

Just like she is.

Leave a Reply

